+357 25 320559
Expand search form
June 20, 2024

The Cyprus Sailing Federation was established in 1972 and its first meeting was held in 1978 with the then Director General of the Cyprus Sports Organisation Mr Christakis Georgiades as chairman and Mr Totos Theodosiou as secretary. The founding members of the Federation were the Famagusta Nautical Club, the Larnaca Nautical Club and the Limassol Nautical Club. From 1984 onwards, the Kyrenia Nautical Club, the Paphos Nautical Club, the Nicosia Sailing Club, the Cyprus Offshore Nautical Club (PONATHA) and the Cyprus Sports Association of Owners of Small Vessels (PASIMIS) have gradually joined.

In 1979, Mr Totos Theodosiou became the first Chairman and he set out to draft and approve the Articles of Association as well as to study the organisation of the CYSAF. The first objective of the CYSAF was to participate in the Moscow Olympic Games in 1980 and this was achieved with a seven-member representation with 470, Finn and Flying Dutchman dinghies. The CYSAF participated in the Seoul Olympic Games in 1988 with a three-member representation with a 470 dinghy, in the Barcelona Olympic Games in 1992 with a 470 dinghy, in the Atlanta Olympic Games in 1996 with a 470 dinghy and in the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000 with Laser and Mistral dinghies. In 2004, the CYSAF participated in the Athens Olympic Games after qualifying for the first time with three classes of dhingies: Men’s/ Women’s Mistral and Laser. In 2008, the CYSAF, again, made it through the qualifying process for the Beijing Olympic Games with four athletes in the categories: Men’s/ Women’s RS:X, Laser and Finn. Apart from the Olympic Games, the Federation took active part in numerous international races such as World and European Games and other regattas.

On 17.12.1989, the Cyprus Sailing Federation acquired its own Sailing Centre where it also houses its offices. The Sailing Centre hosts training camps as well as national and international regattas.


The Federation is managed by the Board of Directors which is elected and appointed in accordance with the Articles of Association of the Federation. The first Chairman of the CYSAF was Mr Totos Theodosiou who remained in the position from 1979 to 2005 when he was declared honorary Chairman of the CYSAF. From 2005 to 2009, Dr Panayiotis Kontides was appointed chairman and, since 2010, Mr Yiannos Photiou has been the Chairman.

Classes of dinghies

The classes of sailing dinghies currently maintained by the CYSAF are the following: Women’s/ Men’s RS:X, Laser Standard, Laser Radial, Laser 4.7, Optimist, 470, Finn and Open Sea Vessels.